Where community connects

Memories from Sonia Lewis

Leave a comment

SONY DSC

This week, we say goodbye to Chief Executive Officer Sonia Lewis, who came to lead the team at Kitchener Public Library in August, 2004. Sonia is retiring, and this is her last week with us. She wanted to share this with you: 

My time at Kitchener Public Library is drawing to a close. When I leave at the end of this week, I’ll be taking great memories with me. Let me share a few with you.

  • Discovering what makes each of our community libraries unique.
  • My first Kidspark and first storytime at the Kitchener Market.
  • Breakfast with Margaret Atwood . . . dinner with Nino Ricci.

  • Launching the “asterisk” and a fresh, new image for the Library.
  • Reaching our capital campaign target thanks to generous donors.
  • My first formal presentation to Council. Mayor Zehr called it “awesome”.
  • Knowing we played a part in rebuilding Sri Lankan libraries after the tsunami.
  • Flux, the public art at Central Library that never fails to lift my spirits.
  • Reintroducing free membership to all Region of Waterloo residents.
  • Learning and laughing with staff on professional development days.
  • Letters from customers telling us how we made a difference in their lives or how we could do a better job.
  • The ribbon cutting at Central Library on September 6, 2014.

And best of all I take memories of a community that values its public library, and memories of staff and volunteers who are passionate about what they do.

Simply put, I take away memories of the best years of my 35 year career in libraries.

Thank you.

Sonia Lewis

Enjoy this slide show of some of our memories:

Author: Charlotte Prong

I'm the Social Media Editor at Kitchener Public Library. Follow us on Twitter @KitchLibrary, on Instagram @kitchenerlibrary, or like our page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

