Where community connects

It’s ThanksBooking weekend!

Leave a comment

thanksgiving book

thanksbooksOne of the books I’m most thankful for is Patrick Will Grow by Gladys Baker Bond. As the youngest of seven children, I empathized with Patrick – who couldn’t wait to grow as big as his older siblings. I have very specific memories of my mother reading this book to me as a child.

My mother died five years ago today, but I’ll always have those memories. I also still have the book!

So this week, I asked you on social media – what books are you most thankful for? Here are a few of your responses. You picked these books because they helped you through a tough time, made you a better person, because you learned something from them, because they invoked old memories or created new ones.

Thank you so much for sharing!

Sherry Erb is thankful for The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz.

Cathy Zimmerman – Peter’s Painting by Sally Moss:  “It helped my child learn to read. And wow does she ever love to read!”

@thebooktrailer – “I’m grateful for CanLit.” A couple favourites: The Way the Crow Flies by Ann-Marie MacDonald and Deafening by Frances Itani.

Sandra Wilson – The Civility Solution by P.M. Forni – “It helped me learn to understand people better and in turn make me a better person.”

Aimee Polevoy is thankful for Beauty by Sherri S. Tepper.

Ann Ford is thankful for And Tango Makes Three by Justin Richardson and Peter Parnell.

Jamie – Sweetland by Michael Crummey “Incredible storytelling. Moses and the other islanders will stay with me for a long time.”

Rox-Anne Henderson is always thankful for her current reads. Right now? Elements of Style by Erin Gates, and Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg.

Melinda Mah – “I’m grateful for so many, but the first book that made me cry was Awake and Dreaming by Kit Pearson.”

Maryanna Bradley – “The books I am thankful for are anything by Maeve Binchy.”

Kerri Hutchinson – “Can I say all the books? If not, then my pick is my childhood favourite Matilda.”

Silvia – “I am thankful for Linwood Barclay‘s book The Last Resort. Wonderful story every time I re-read it. I just wish I had bought a hard copy of it years ago. Now it is out of print……..boo!

Carissa – “Harry Potter series, because it was there for me during a rough time.”

Author: Charlotte Prong

I'm the Social Media Editor at Kitchener Public Library. Follow us on Twitter @KitchLibrary, on Instagram @kitchenerlibrary, or like our page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

